# GPT-5.6 is deleting user files when given full access, and OpenAI says it shouldn't but did

> GPT-5. 6 is deleting user files when given full access, and OpenAI says it shouldn't but did OpenAI's new AI model, GPT-5. 6, has unexpectedly deleted user files "in a handful" of cases.

- **Source:** [The-decoder](https://the-decoder.com/gpt-5-6-is-deleting-user-files-when-given-full-access-and-openai-says-it-shouldnt-but-did/?utm_source=gearopen.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=feed&utm_content=6a5a9d1c92382b3d3dfe32e1)
- **Published:** 2026-07-17
- **Category:** AI & Bots
- **Tags:** #openai #ai
- **Canonical:** http://localhost:4321/a/6a5a9d1c92382b3d3dfe32e1

---

_GearOpen's distilled summary. The full original article is published at The-decoder (source link above); GearOpen does not republish the source's full text._
